Langton Concerts

The first Langton Concert took place in September 2010 to celebrate the completion of a programme of restoration and conservation of the church which included the rehanging of the church’s six bells, complete internal redecoration in the original Georgian colour scheme and the restoration of the small Bryceson chamber organ by Goetze & Gwynn.  From this small beginning the two summer concerts have become a regular feature and have proved immensely popular with a wide variety of outstanding performers playing excellent chamber music to capacity audiences.

Note that the concerts have become increasingly well known – leaving very few if any places available on the night.

It is highly recommended to book early to avoid disappointment.


2020 season

We are absolutely delighted to announce the first concert of the 10th anniversary season of Langton Concerts.

Saturday 23 May 2020 at 6.30 pm

Ensemble DeNOTE

John Irving (fortepiano), Jane Booth (clarinet), Marcus Barcham-Stevens (violin), Oliver Wilson (viola), and Ruth Alford (cello).


Beethoven  –  Piano Quartet in E flat Op.16

Mozart  –  Trio K.498 for clarinet, viola and piano ‘Kegelstatt’

Mozart  –  Grand Quintetto K.361 (the c.1805 arrangement of the Gran’ Partita Serenade)


Followed by canapés and drinks served in the candlelit church
Suggested donations: £18
Further information from the webmaster, or call 01790 753649.


The Ensemble DeNOTE is an outstanding group of musicians whose musical approach returns to the roots of eighteenth-century performance style, exploring the soundworld of period instruments and integrating the latest scholarly research with a passion for live musical communication.  Ensemble DeNOTE’s performances bring novel perspectives to this music, combining the soundworld of period instruments and playing techniques with a bold expressive approach that goes beyond the notated texts into the world of creative improvisation.   They offer an opportunity to hear classics of the chamber music repertoire played on period instruments, introduced and accessibly explained by the players themselves, focusing on a ‘small is beautiful’ approach to music-making that involves just a handful of performers passionate about exploring the connections between musical expression, the talented ‘cottage industry’ craftspeople who make our reproduction period instruments, and the power of communication in live musical performance.

Ensemble DeNOTE was founded by in 2010 as a resident ensemble at London University’s The Institute of Musical Research (IMR) by John Irving, then Director of the IMR.

DeNOTE’s core musicians are John Irving (fortepiano), Jane Booth (clarinet), Marcus Barcham-Stevens (violin) Oliver Wilson (viola), and Ruth Alford (cello).

JohnJohn is a leading Mozart scholar and fortepianist and has held Professorships at Bristol University, London University (where he was Director of The Institute of Musical Research, School of Advanced Study, University of London). He is now Professor of Performance Practice at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London.

IMG_9902aJane has had an international career with orchestras such as The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Academy of Ancient Music, Orchestre des Champs Elysees and Tafelmusik and in chamber music with the Eybler Quartet, OAE Winds, Les Vents Devienne and with artists such as Robert Levin and Ronald Brautigam. She is Head of Historical Performance at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, London.

MarcusMarcus is both a performer and a composer. He is Co-Leader of the Britten Sinfonia and second violinist in The Fitzwilliam Quartet; he regularly works with both period and  contemporary ensembles including the Orchestre Revolutionnaire et Romantique He has guest-led the CBSO and RLPO and his chamber music performances include work with Peter Donohoe and Thomas Adès.

RUthpictureRuth thrives on a broad musical diet from Baroque to Contemporary, whilst sharing her enthusiasm for music through various educational outlets. She performs and records widely throughout Europe, Far East and America as a principal player and continuo ’cellist with the English Baroque Soloists , Orchestre Revolutionaire et Romantique and Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment as well as chamber ensembles including Brandenburg Consort, Revolutionary Drawing Room, The Music Collection, Fiori Musicali, Florilegium, Configure8 and The Chamber Players.




Previous Langton concerts

September 2010 – Edward Bennett and Andrew Hancock (organ), Clare Douglas (soprano)

May 2011 – Harriet Adie (harp), Caroline Adie (cor anglais & oboe)

September 2011 – Stephanie Oade (‘cello,) Andrew Booth (guitar)

May 2012 – Michael Bochmann (violin), Carol Hubel-Allen (viola), Nella Hunkins (‘cello)

September 2012 – Holly Melia (flute), Catherine Landen (violin) & Ali Vennart (viola)

May 2013 – Calum Robertson (organ & clarinet) & Tom Poulson (trumpet)

September 2013 – Continuum Trio.  Elizabeth Walker (flute), Christopher Poffley (violin), Michael Overbury (harpsichord)

May 2014 – St Martin Singers

September 2014 – Huw Wiggin (soprano saxophone), Ellie McMurray (alto saxophone), Jose Banuls (tenor saxophone), Shevaughan Beere (baritone saxophone)

May 2015 – Orlando Jopling (cello)

September 2015 – Matthew Scott (clarinet), Julia Pusker and Antonia Kesel (violins), Ugne Tiskute (viola), Cecilia Bagnall (cello) (Concert supported by Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme)

May 2016 – Sarah Bennett (flute), Oliver Cave (violin), Luba Tunnicliffe (viola, Peteris Sokolovkis (‘cello)  (Concert supported by Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme)

September 2016 – Eolienne Wind Quintet – Rosie Bowker (flute), Chris Hatton (clarinet), Laura Campbell (oboe), Gregory Topping (bassoon), Sian Collins (French horn).

May 2017 – Hannah Morgan (oboe),  Anne Denholm (harp) (Concert supported by Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme)

September 2017 – Piers Adams (recorders) and David Wright (harpsichord) of Red Priest

May 2018 – Magnard Ensemble  –  Suzannah Clements (née Watson)  (flute),  Mana Shibata  (oboe), Joseph Shiner (clarinet),  Jonathan Farey (French horn),  Catriona McDermid (bassoon).   (Concert supported by Countess of Munster Musical Trust Recital Scheme)

September 2018 –  Heath Quartet (Oliver Heath and Sara Wolstenholme – violins; Gary Pomeroy – viola; Christopher Murray – cello)

May 2019 – Musicians of the Dreaming Spires (Celia Redgate – flute; Christopher Redgate – oboe; Helen Pitstow – violin; David Lewis – viola; Coral Lancaster – cello)

September 2019 – Ensemble Mirage  (Matthew Scott – clarinet; Alexandra Lomeiko and Rose Hinton – violins; Emily Pond – viola; Michael Newman – cello)


Click here to email webmaster if you would like to be added to the Langton Concerts’ emailing list.


Visitors to this website may also be interested in the excellent series of autumn, winter and spring concerts put on by the Louth Concert Society.



Page updated 23/9/19